Why is it Important to Study the History of Islam?

There are several reasons why it would be good to learn about Islam even though you may not be Muslim or part of the Islamic religion. First, it is the second biggest religion in the world (the biggest religion is Christianity), and it would be wise to know how such a big religion would think and act. Second, Islam’s growth is linked to the rest of the history course I am taking.  In this essay I will take a closer look at each of these reasons.

Why is it such a good idea to learn how Islam thinks and acts? First, you can’t argue with them if you don’t know what to disagree on. If you know nothing about them, you don’t know why you oppose them. Also, if you don’t know that their first reaction to “I am a Christian” is to kill you, then you are in a lot of trouble. If you don’t know how they react to things, you could end up making some very angry Muslims.

Second, in taking the 7’th grade history course I will be going over the times when Islam is at its peak, and taking effect in the world. If I don’t study Islam it will be harder to follow along with the course.

In summary, it is important to know your how other religions act and think so you can act accordingly, and also I will be confused, and making it more difficult for myself if I don’t study the history of Islam.

 

 

Leave a comment